Fighting for a Better Community 

Becky Fast has a long history of public service and commitment to the county prior to her election as District 1 - Johnson County Commissioner. She served two terms on the Roeland Park City Council and was elected unanimously to serve as council president.

She is a graduate of the Johnson County Citizens Academy and the Northeast Johnson County Chamber leadership training program.

As City Councilor, she has served on the following boards and committees:


  • Kansas City Regional First Tier Suburbs Coalition, 

  • Mid America Regional Council Bicycle–Pedestrian Advisory Committee

  • Johnson County Parks and Recreation Pool Advisory Board

  • National League of Cities Community & Economic Development (CED) Committee.

She graduated with honors with a master’s degree in public administration and social work from the University of Kansas. After graduation, Becky was hired as a public policy analyst at the University of Kansas focusing on services for seniors and persons with disabilities.

She then served as the Director of Constituent Services for Congressman Dennis Moore. In that role, she helped cities in northeast Johnson County access vitally needed federal funds to improve stormwater management and the Turkey Creek Streamway conservation and trail corridor.


Becky is a life-long educator starting out her career as an elementary education teacher and now teaching at the graduate level as an adjunct professor at Washburn University. In addition, she is an executive director of a state-wide nonprofit and advocates in the Kansas legislature for improvements in the mental health service delivery system. 


She has been an active participant at Asbury United Methodist Church in Prairie Village and in the Shawnee Mission School District MVP program volunteering in her neighborhood schools. She has also served on the Mainstream Coalition Board of Directors as well as the Kansas Families for Public Education Board of Directors. 


Becky has been a recognized leader in her profession, on Roeland Park City Council, and will continue to bring that leadership and commitment as a Johnson County Commissioner.

Becky Has A Proven Record in Community Leadership and Service


Fast has dedicated herself to addressing the tough problems in her community and will continue to do that for Johnson County:


  • Fought to preserve neighborhood libraries when the 2009 facilities masterplan called for consolidation of the Cedar Roe library with the Antioch Branch library.


  • Organized a community effort to save the Roeland Park community center which specializes in programming for age 55+ offered by Johnson County Parks and Recreation Services.


  • Collaborated with Johnson County Wastewater Treatment Center to improve air quality and decrease toxic smells that were impacting the surrounding neighborhoods in Mission and Roeland Park.


  • Turned around a city park from being a neglected and blighted park to being a regional hub for mountain biking and hiking.


  • Worked to improve access to substance abuse services through appointment by the Johnson County Commission to the Drug and Alcoholism Council of Johnson County.


  • Worked to increase access to an array of housing options through serving on the Johnson County Housing Choices Taskforce.



  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey

© 2018 Becky Fast for Johnson County - Tanya Keys, Treasurer